yeah.net and the deluge of spam

Lots of people seem to be confused about the recent shower of spam from @yeah.net addresses. For the uninitiated, over the last couple of days we've been sent the following email repeatedly:

We are a China based web designing and development studio. The purpose of this letter is to introduce our working ability to you, we have well experienced professionals in many Web platforms Such as Flash designs , Flash Action Scripts , DNN Skinning, PHP,ASP.Net, Flash , HTML , Photoshop, Web designs , Java scripts, Portal developments MY SQL, MS SQL etc ... Our technical, design and development team have grown in size to ensure we can continue providing excellent service to all of our customers.

Core offerings

Business website design
Business website redesign
Flash website design
Flash website redesign
Ecommerce website design
Ecommerce website redesign
Company website design
Company catalog design
Company logo design
Graphic design
Google search engine optimization
ERP Solutions

Pls check our website to see portfolio.

Best regards,
Wallace
Wonassh Information Technologies
Website Team
Contact: dontechit@yeah.net

Send address to websprsou@yeah.net for remove

According to far braver chaps than me, all emails to the unsubscribe address are ignored. Quite why a speculative job letter would reasonably have a mailing list that you could choose to unsubscribe from is beyond me, but I guess the internet is improbably still full of people who trust other people. :/

yeah.net is unconnected with the spammers in the same way that Google's Gmail service is unconnected with the many 419 messages I get annually - it's just a free email service that people are using as a vector for sending spam through. Several commentators seem convinced that yeah.net itself is the culprit, which would seem not to be the case. yeah.net is an affiliated email provider of Netease, a Chinese-language internet company providing search engine, email, news aggregation and online games, I guess the Chinese equivalent of Yahoo.

Should any of you crazy kids wish to complain about the spam originating from yeah.net domains, I suggest you use the Netease contact page (it's in English, don't panic) and drop the guys there a friendly note to let them know which email addresses are being used for the abuse.

PS: 'Wonassh Information Technologies' returns zero hits in good old Google. I had a go with Netease's search engine as well and also got no hits, so either the company name is usually written in Chinese and I'm not able to transcribe it into the right format, or -gasp! It's not actually a real company in the first place and perhaps it's just a front for email harvesting. Blimey.

Posted in Spam at 09:39 on 26 August 2009


Previous post: ASCII to UTF-8 from CSV